Friday, September 28, 2007

GOP Congressman owned home with another man, took DC tax deduction while voting in NC

More trouble for Congressman Patrick T. McHenry (R-NC), who earlier this year had his campaign staffer, Michael Aaron Lay, indicted on charges of voter fraud for registering at the McHenry home in North Carolina illegally (while Lay was being paid by McHenry's campaign at a Tennessee residence, he registered at McHenry's Requa Drive home in Cherryville). In addition, other individuals were registered at McHenry's home around the time of his various election races. In addition to Lay, Neil Everett Capano, Matthew Allen Hamilton, and Jason Jent Deans were all listed on the North Carolina State Board of Elections. Now, it appears at the same time McHenry co-owned a home in Washington with another male and both claimed it as their principal residence in order to secure a significant tax break. Here is part of the PageOneQ story (

Congressman Patrick T. McHenry (R-NC), right, purchased a residence in Washington, DC's Capital Hill neighborhood with another man, PageOneQ has learned. While he owned the home, McHenry and co-owner Scott G. Stewart claimed eligibility for the District of Columbia's Homestead Tax Deduction, a tax reduction program to encourage homeownership and residence in DC. At the same time McHenry was registered to vote, and did so, in Gaston County, North Carolina.

DC Recorder of Deeds told PageOneQ that McHenry and Stewart received a $60,000 deduction off the property's assessed value for tax reduction purposes in the second half of 2001. In order to receive the tax reduction, homeowners are required to certify that the property is "occupied by the owner/applicant." The eligibility guidelines state that the "property must be the principal residence (domicile) of the owner/applicant."

At the same time he owned the home and claimed the deduction in DC, North Carolina Board of Elections records show that McHenry voted in Gaston County, NC. McHenry first cast a ballot in Gaston in November 1993. Subsequently, he voted in twenty different elections up through the November 7, 2006 General Election.

No comments: